Canonical Erection of Independent Delegation of Kolkata on July 16, 2019

Jun 29, 2019 | ASCLA West, Chennai, Kolkata

Rome, Italy. The General Government officially and publicly announced today at 12 noon in India, June 29, 2019, Solemnity of Saints Peter and Paul, the DECREE OF THE CANONICAL ERECTION OF INDEPENDENT DELEGATION OF KOLKATA scheduled on July 16, 2019. Superior General, Fr. Mathew Vattamattam, CMF signed the Decree on the 13th of June 2019, Anniversary of the Priestly Ordination of St. Anthony Mary Claret, at the General Curia in Rome. The territorial limits of the new Organism will be the Indian states of Bihar, Jharkhand (except that of the Diocese of Daltonganj), West Bengal, Uttaranchal, the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, and the mission in Bangladesh. The Delegation Curia will be determined by the new Major Superior and his Government.

Likewise, announced also today the appointed Major Superior and Consultors of Kolkata for the Triennium 2019 – 2022. The General Superior and his Council appointed on March 25, 2019 the following Claretian Missionaries to form the Delegation Government effective July 16, 2019:

Major Superior:
Fr. Lawrence V., CMF

Fr. Raimund Tigga, CMF

Consultor – Econome:
Fr. Jini P., CMF

To date and until its canonical erection date, Kolkata depends on Chennai Province. On October 17, 2018, the Superior General and his Council adopted the decision of its independence as well as the date of its canonical erection. The General Government decided on December 24, 2018 the final territorial division of the Organisms in India and that of Kolkata based on the discernment presented by the Major Superiors of the Organisms in India. The approval of its official name as Independent Delegation of Kolkata was on March 28, 2019.

News Categories


claretian martyrs icon
Clotet Year - Año Clotet
global citizen

Documents – Documentos